New arrest warrant out for suspects in slay of journalist

A LOCAL court issued a new arrest warrant for the suspects, one of them a police officer, in the 2008 killing of a radio broadcaster in General Santos City. General Santos City is a province approximately 1,049 kilometers southeast of Manila. Continue reading “New arrest warrant out for suspects in slay of journalist”

Contempt raps eyed versus Legacy owner

LEGACY Group of Companies founder Celso de los Angeles is facing contempt proceedings that may possibly end up with his being ordered arrested and detained by Senate probers, having failed to accomplish his commitment in submitting his waiver on the lifting of secrecy privileges on his bank accounts and sworn statements of assets and liabilities (SAL). Continue reading “Contempt raps eyed versus Legacy owner”

Bangko Sentral: Rural bank’s closures part of ‘housecleaning’

RURAL banks’ profits may suffer and their bad loans climb as the economic crisis bites, the central bank said. The closures since the start of the year, however, could not be taken as indication of an ailing sector, it stressed, but as part of its “yearly housecleaning” to ensure that rural banks are safe to put money in. Continue reading “Bangko Sentral: Rural bank’s closures part of ‘housecleaning’”

Lost at home

By FRANCES CLAIRE PEÑALOSA, UP-Cebu intern

I CANT write. I dont. I sing. I dance. I play music. Okay, what’s an all out performer doing in the backstage buzz work? Writing? Documenting? Reporting?

While browsing thru my multiply dot com account, I read a blog entry of one of my friends and men, does she write fabulously. I left a comment saying, “I wish I had your hands and inspiration.” Five days ago, I attempted to read the Sunday paper. Well, it was more of scanning. Within those seconds of scanning made me ask, “How can these people write so well with different topics every single day??” That’s insane! Continue reading “Lost at home”